Sorry London, I’ve tried. I really have.

I didn’t like London.

There. I’ve said it. I know everyone’s just in love with the city, its life and people. I tried and I will try again, but I cannot say London enchanted me.

Probably it’s because I had so little time there (two days, in fact this won’t be my last visit of course), but then again I’m not giving a final judgement of the whole city, just explaining my general feeling and giving my first impression. I shall also add that I arrived in London after a week in Scotland, so I was pretty much in a “fuck the English” (read with Scottish accent) mood.

Done all the due premises, now it’s time for me to explain to you why I didn’t have that “click” with the English capital.

#1 People everywhere.

137392d1411145255t-people-go-nuts-over-iphone-6-gigantic-crowds-everywhere-iphone6-london

Now, don’t misunderstand me, but there’s someone in every single corner of every single street. I felt sorrounded, not having my space to think and relax.

#2 Rushing, rushing, rushing. Where to, I ask?

london-underground-tube

I feel a real philosophy student about this, sorry. But everyone’s just rushing. I was sorrounded by people hurrying, probably to get to work. It felt senseless, like people running like hamsters on the wheel. An infinite procession of automatons.

#3 So international. But is it?

Maybe I just haven’t the required skills to feel it, but I couldn’t get the London atmosphere. You know the “YEEAH we’re in London, so international!!!”. Nope. Of course it’s international, but I felt like its internationality wasn’t a “meeting of cultures”, but rather a commingling resulting in a globalised culture which turns out to be a non-culture.

#4 Historical sites.

I LOVE art and history. I’m Italian, so I’m probably spoiled by the condition of most of our cities (that is, it seems to jump in the past), but it’s really sad for me seeing an historical building or site ruined by a brand new shop just under or next to it. In this way it hasn’t the deserved room letting the visitor to enjoy and contemplate it.

thesorrygif

 

Overall London seemed to me like a fake, ad hoc built city. It reminded me Orwell’s 1984. I’m sure London’s plenty of opportunities, especially for what concerns economy, but it’s just not my cup of tea. I could work there for a bit, but I don’t think I could ever live there. It felt souless, so international to lose his own identity.

But then again, this was my first impression. Maybe I’ll grow to love it.. or not. Everyone’s different after all.

9 Replies to “Sorry London, I’ve tried. I really have.”

  1. I had a similar experience of London – I was only there for 2 days and found it crowded and just really metropolitan, although there probably are layers to the local culture I didn’t have the chance to discover! I also think growing up in New York City really ruined me for big cities because there’s such a clash of tourists and the people who are just running around trying to get to work that it’s just not fun for anybody involved. Thanks for sharing your honest perspective!

    Mi piace

  2. I’ve lived in London for 6 years now, and I can see why it’s not for everyone, mostly for the reasons you’ve listed above! But I think it is a fantastic place, overall, as there is always something going on here, and it often feels like it lives up to its moniker of being the ‘world in one city’, with all its diversity, history, varied cuisine and more. I guess we’ll just have to disagree…unless you do get to visit again and it grows on you next time around πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 persona

Rispondi

